top of page
Writer's pictureAsha Kin

How to Build a Teepee Trellis

Updated: Nov 28, 2020


“As an Amazon Associate, I earn from qualifying purchases, at no additional cost to you.”



Trellises are a really cool way to not only keep your produce off the ground but its also a great way to display beautiful fruits and veggies! If you are gardening in a small space its the best way to grow a garden.


Let's get into how to build one of my favorite types, the teepee trellis!




Step 1: Prep the soil. You'll want to remove any weeds that will be in the direct planting area or cover them with a sheet mulch like cardboard. I chose to pull weeds up at the roots and then laid a mini mound of peat moss and compost down.





Step 2: Locate and tie three large branches, sticks, or garden stakes and tie them together at the top. Spread the legs out into position and bury them in place. I watered the ground where I was going to bury the branches and used the mud to pack in them in wet and dry in place.



Step 3: Get out the twine and go to town. Keep in mind; there should be an opening so the kiddos can crawl inside. I tied twine around two sides and left one open since mine is triangular shaped.



Step 4: Plant away! I planted painted lady runner beans and cucumbers:)



This little project is so easy; it was something my four-year-old helped me with. And if you have some materials on hand, it is fairly inexpensive, as well. So, as always, I will encourage you to get out there and play in the dirt!



 

Check out my Etsy Store: https://www.etsy.com/shop/MixedBerryHomestead?ref=shop_sugg

Follow me on Snapchat: ashkosh89

Subscribe to my Youtube Channel: https://youtu.be/EgkcfYPXUIo


40 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page