top of page
Writer's pictureAsha Kin

Confessions of a Gardening Addict, part 1

Updated: Nov 28, 2020

“As an Amazon Associate, I earn from qualifying purchases at no additional cost to you.”

Would you like to hear a funny story about how I tried to hide an Amazon purchase from my husband? (You may notice it in the last photo:)


I’m very independent, but as a newlywed, I am learning to get better about discussing purchases with my husband before I make them. But this time, I felt the need to ask for forgiveness rather than be told we should save. I know! It was a terrible seed that I planted, and it sprouted.


Over the next few days, I watered that seed. I obsessed over customer reviews and photos, I stalked the price for a drop, and then the seed sprouted on payday. Haha... don’t judge me, friends. I was weak, and I’m truly, and undeniably addicted to gardening.


When I noticed that my Amazon package had arrived, I put on my slides and carried it directly to the backyard; instead of the house, while my husband and daughter were distracted in the kitchen. Then I went back inside and didn’t speak a word of it.


Later in the afternoon, my husband went outside to finish up some yard work, and when he came inside, he never mentioned it. So like a real criminal, I suspected I’d gotten away with it. Until that evening, when I was guilt-stricken enough to bring it up amongst friends at dinner. And to my surprise, he simply said, “I know, I opened the box. The metal seems sturdy.” As usual, I underestimated the support he gives to me and my gardening obsession. I believe it’s because he too believes in the power of self-sustainability and raising a family as naturally as we can.


Next time I won’t be so secretive and just spill the beans as I always do (see what I did there?). I encourage you not to spend frivolously as I have or be sneaky, but to still get out and play in the dirt!





 

Check out my Etsy Store: https://www.etsy.com/shop/MixedBerryHomestead?ref=shop_sugg

Follow me on Snapchat: ashkosh89

Subscribe to my Youtube Channel: https://youtu.be/EgkcfYPXUIo





23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page