top of page
Writer's pictureAsha Kin

Confessions of a Work at Home / Stay at Home

Updated: Nov 28, 2020

“As an Amazon Associate, I may earn a small commission from qualifying purchases.”

Dig the shorts? Drop me a comment!

Working from home has always been a dream of mine. The idea of rolling out of bed, grabbing a mug of hot coffee, and strolling into my home office with a pair of comfy pajamas is all too appealing for a hermit crab, like myself. And it has been everything and more. But, everything has its pros and cons, even working from home. Oh, and did I mention that my four-year-old little diva keeps me company? Oh, yea...we took her out of daycare when the pandemic began and she hasn't been back since.


Pros


Unlimited Clothing Options


I have to be honest, I am sort of lazy when it comes to fashion. I'm a t-shirt, jeans, and a nice pair of sneakers type of gal. And wearing what I want is appealing to me in a job. Being home, most of the time that means big Ts and yoga pants. My partner in crime normally opts for undies, only. Don't judge us, friends!


Overdose of Family Time

Olivia doing school work as mommy works.

Since working from home I have so much more time with my family. Thank goodness I like them, jokers because it would be rough if I didn't. Normally, my little Olivia is lounging on the couch in my office as I work or destroying the house. And I mean, the entire house. I liken her ability to make messes to the Tasmanian Devil.


Sneaking Out to the Garden


One of my favorite things to do is go out to the backyard to garden on my breaks. My job is very stressful so, having the ability to go outside and take that stress out on some unruly weeds or digging a hole helps. It's all about using your imagination folks if you catch my drift! By the end of some back-breaking garden chores, I feel refreshed and much more calm to tackle the remainder of my day. It's also a time to get my little one out of the house to play and to get some vitamin D.

Cons


There's No Place Like Home


When I first bought my home, I worked in the office and I dreamed of the day when it was optional to go to work. Well, my dream came true about a year and a half ago. The first week was oddly quiet because I am somewhat of a social person and my little one was still in daycare before the pandemic. I missed my work team and my friends, but man it was nice not wearing makeup, not wearing jeans, and not doing my hair. I was hooked! But after a while, the four walls of my office would become lonely.



Sometimes You Forget Things


Wondering if I forgot to do something important today.

I've forgotten things like showering and brushing my teeth, reaching out to friends and family. And before you think I'm gross I know I'm not the only one. If you were a slight introvert before, you know, the type that wears headphones to avoid conversations, be prepared to become the biggest hermit crab of your life. The thought of getting dressed to go anywhere will become a chore, and you will make plans that you will eventually cancel due to the dedication to your hermit status.


Unlimited Messes

Olivia and Sophia. Sophia is my oldest daughter who is staying in Germany until after the New Year.

Listen here, I have never picked up and clean up so much in my life and it grinds my gears! I'm a neat freak turned mad by the sheer vastness of the messes one child can make during a phone conversation. I straighten up the house throughout the day and by the end, it looks like Hurricane O caused mass destruction within a localized 1105 square foot area.


I truly enjoy working from home, the pros outweigh the cons for me. Maybe this will help you decide if you'd like to accept a position working from home. Or maybe it brought you a few chuckles. Either way, thank you for stopping by and taking the time to read about my experiences. Feel free to share your own in the comments!


 


 


Check out my Etsy Store: https://www.etsy.com/shop/MixedBerryHomestead?ref=shop_sugg

Follow me on Snapchat: ashkosh89

Subscribe to my Youtube Channel: https://youtu.be/EgkcfYPXUIo

 


18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page