top of page
Writer's pictureAsha Kin

Growing Garlic

Updated: Nov 28, 2020

“As an Amazon Associate, I earn from qualifying purchases.”

Organic hardneck garlic, the variety is called music.

I don't know about you, but my family loves garlic! And why wouldn't we? As a member of the onion family, this veggie is one of the most widely used, especially in America. There are two types of garlic, hardneck, and soft neck. Generally, hardneck garlic is grown in colder climates that receive a significant freeze, while softneck is grown in warmer climates.


This being my first year growing garlic I wanted to experiment with growing both hard and softneck. Through all of my research and watching countless hours of Youtube on the topic, I'm happy to share that many people find growing their own garlic to be simple and rewarding. Come along for the ride as I show you how I planted some of my very own hardneck garlic.


Hardneck garlic has a hard inner stem/neck, while softneck doesn't.

What you will need:

-soil

-compost and/or fertilizer

-container or some other planting space

-organic garlic bulbs


Planting


Garlic bulbs are simply the entire garlic before splitting it up into separate pieces called cloves. Each clove, itself, will go on to produce an entire bulb. It's a good idea to wait to split up the cloves until you're ready to plant them. It helps to prevent them from drying out. Fortunately, garlic is known to be one of the best companion plants for a lot of other veggies and it deters pests like ants, fungus gnats, and spider mites.



But, steer clear of planting it near things like strawberries, peas, asparagus, parsley, and sage. I decided to plant some of my garlic in the top pouch of my vertical felt wall planter. For the remainder, I popped in an earth bed that had nothing but lemon balm planted in it.




Feel free to add in your compost or organic fertilizer before sowing your cloves. A general rule of thumb is to plant seeds or cloves twice the depth of their height. I followed this rule when planting my garlic. Ensure that when planting the cloves the pointy side is up and if you can't decide which side faces upward, simply plant them on their side and the garlic will do the rest. Water them in and that is it! In about nine months we will have loads of garlic to use and share with friends and family, and you could too!



What did I tell you? Easy, right? I could've simply said... peel and plant! So what are you waiting for? Get out there and play in the dirt!



 

Check out my Etsy Store: https://www.etsy.com/shop/MixedBerryHomestead?ref=shop_sugg

Follow me on Snapchat: ashkosh89

Subscribe to my Youtube Channel: https://youtu.be/EgkcfYPXUIo


23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page